Traditional Owners

Who are the Taungurung Clans?

The Taungurung clans are the Traditional Owners of a large part of Central Victoria. TLaWC represents the interests of the clans of the Taungurung — Benbendore-balluk, Buthera-balluk, Gunung-Yellam, Leuk-willam, Moomoomgoonbeet, Nattarak-balluk, Ngurai-illam-balluk, Nira-balluk, Tenbringnellams, Walledriggers, Waring-illam-balluk, Warrinillum, Yaran-illam, Yirun-ilam-balluk, and Yowung-illam-balluk. 

You can read more about the Taungurung Clans and their history and culture by visiting

Taungurung – click image for website

The artist, Tom Day worked closely with the DELWP Aboriginal Staff network to create DELWP’s Aboriginal Cultural Identity
Mirring – Country.

Mirring represents the diverse Countries and landscapes across Victoria and the “scars that have been left within the landscape by our people” while at the same time reminding us of “our inherent responsibility to protect Country.”